Skip to content

1st Ever Nashville FOOD TRUCK FOOD COURT!

February 13, 2011

Tuesday this week marks a monumental day for all food truck lovers here in our beloved city of Nashville. Three great food destinations – The Grilled Cheeserie, Pizza Buds, and Bang Candy Company – are all coming together for our first ever Food Truck Food Court. What the heck is that?!? Essentially, an idea popularized in the Food Truck capital of the world, Los Angeles, this type of food court is where lots of trucks come together to serve their delicious food, and hungry people like you and me get to go around and get food from all the different eateries. Have a slice of pizza, grab a sandwich, maybe some of Crystal’s awesome pudding, and top it off with some hot chocolate with homemade marshmallows! Bring your family or your co workers and have a fun lunch hour. This is going to be awesome and I hope it continues, since I’m loving these mobile food options! Here are the details:

What: 1st Ever Nashville Food Truck Food Court

When: Tuesday, February 15, 12-4 PM

Where: West End and 23rd Avenue

Who:

The Grilled Cheeserie – I love the Grilled Cheeserie. I did a post on them a few months ago, that I’ve updated with things I’ve eaten, so check that out here for all the info. Awesome grilled cheese, homemade tomato soup, tater tots, and the BEST PUDDING EVER. If you haven’t been yet, you need to check this place out – quick!

Pizza Buds – I really love Pizza Buds. I’ve had it about 5 times now – always late night in front of 12th and porter, their regular Saturday night spot. I have been meaning to post, but need to get some good pictures, so I think that come Tuesday, I’ll get one in the works. The pizza is beautifully crisp, extremely flavorful due to their cheese blend (mozzarella + provolone) and pizza buds seasoning. The unique part of their crust is that it’s bathed in a brown sugar-butter mixture, so it’s an unexpected and delicious end to a great slice of pizza. I also just became the mayor of Pizza Buds on Foursquare last night. I’m pretty stoked about that. Check out the Nashville Scene’s write up here.

The Bang Candy CompanyI had the pleasure of trying the Bang Candy Company’s marshmallows a few weeks ago at NFM Night Market and boy, where they good! All types of unique flavors like cinnamon-chili and rose-cardamom make these some seriously gourmet and delicious marshmallows. In some awesome hot chocolate, or just as a sweet snack, you can never go wrong with these. Another great write up from the Scene, here.

I love what these companies are doing. It’s taking simple food – a grilled cheese sandwich, a slice of pizza, and marshmallows – and elevating it into something special. It’s the philosophy I take when cooking, so I love to help support people that believe in the same thing. Let’s help these guys out and head over to the Food Truck Food Court on Tuesday. I’ll see you there!

Cheers,

Vivek

14 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2011 10:42 AM

    Maybe I’ll see you there!!

  2. February 13, 2011 3:47 PM

    Love this!

  3. February 14, 2011 1:14 PM

    I love this idea!
    You should bring on http://www.fdlflavors.com for dessert too!

    • February 14, 2011 4:37 PM

      The trucks are organizing themselves, but I agree! FDL would be a great addition.

  4. Stephen permalink
    February 14, 2011 2:54 PM

    You should invite The Latin Wagon they have a really cool truck and great food.

    • February 14, 2011 4:36 PM

      I’m not the one organizing the event – just helping them get the word out. I would suggest to contact The Grilled Cheeserie or Pizza Buds to join the food court. I’m thinking the more, the merrier!

  5. February 15, 2011 2:21 PM

    this was pretty much the best lunch ever! thanks for taking me out to lunch big bro!

  6. March 4, 2011 11:46 PM

    Great to hear all of the good buzz out there on the Food Trucks there in Nashville. We are a Custom Food Truck Builder in Miami, Florida for the last 14 years and we are glad to hear that Nashville is now becoming part of it. If we can help anyone get started in the industry please feel free to give us a call. Good Luck to everyone and have fun with the Food Truck Round-Ups!

    Susan
    Miami Trailer
    Custom Food Trucks & Mobile Kitchens
    305-597-0043 or 954-584-5260

  7. Kelsey Forsythe permalink
    March 30, 2011 9:53 AM

    Hi Mobile Food Trucks!! I work for The Chef and I. We are a catering company out of Nashville, and we also write an article in HER Nashville magazine. We are working on a piece that is a feature on mobile food trucks. (ex. The Grilled Cheeserie, PIZZABUDS, and Bang Candy) I am trying to contact the owners of these companies to set up interviews for this weekend for a photo opportunity, interview, and to learn all about the new rage of mobile food! If interested please contact me for further information!!

    Kelsey Forsythe
    kforsythe0721@mscc.edu

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention 1st Ever Nashville FOOD TRUCK FOOD COURT! « Vivek's Epicurean Adventures -- Topsy.com
  2. Things We Like: Nashville’s First Food Truck Food Court » Nashvillest - All you ever wanted to know about the Music City.
  3. Things We Like: Nashville’s First Food Truck Food Court | NashvilleBlogs.org
  4. Food Trucks for Lexington? | Steve Kay for Lexington

Leave a comment