Skip to content

The Grilled Cheeserie! Nashville’s Newest Food Truck

December 27, 2010

I absolutely love how Nashville’s food scene is offering a myriad of choices for diners. It’s not just a meat and three town anymore. More impressive is how these dining options now include mobile vendors and food trucks. At first, we had tacos from Mas Tacos. Then came pizza from Pizza Buds. And now, we have a truck dedicated to serving Grilled Cheese. These three things – tacos, pizza, and grilled cheese – MAY be some of my favorite foods, so I’m really excited about where this is going.

I’ve had the ability to sample The Grilled Cheeserie a few times since it launched a little over a month ago. Trust me – this food truck is something special. Nothing, to me, conjures up more childhood memories than eating a grilled cheese sandwich that was just dunked in tomato soup. It’s nostalgic, it’s comforting, and it reminds you of your mom. But unlike my mom’s iron kids bread, kraft singles, and Campbell’s tomato soup, The Grilled Cheeserie owners, Crystal De-Luna Bogan and husband Joseph Bogan, are offering a product much more gourmet. And as “epicurean” adventures are kind of my thing, I’m digging this concept.

So let’s start with the big deal – how good is the grilled cheese? It’s really good. Seriously good. DELICIOUS! You can make your own melt or order from their “Special Melts”. I like to make my own, so I ordered a Sourdough, Gruyere with caramelized onions and bacon.

I can see your mouth watering. By the way, this isn’t just any bacon – it’s Benton’s bacon, which may be the best bacon in the world. I love this combination of flavors. I like a pretty traditional grilled cheese – but a few things to make a grilled cheese special, like bacon and onions, is wholeheartedly welcome by me. The fillings are great. Another one of my favorites is the Thanksgiving leftovers, with turkey and cranberry sauce!

Besides the filling, the most important part of a grilled cheese to me is a perfectly crispy and buttery bread. The bread here is grilled to perfection.

Next up were the sides. While it was pretty cold out, Joseph was giving away samples of their great roasted tomato soup. The soup was nice and hearty, with great tomato flavor. Perfect for dunking. I believe there is also a creamy tomato soup, but I have yet to try it.

The side I got was the one that everyone was looking forward to – the TATER TOTS!

I love tater tots. I used the be the kid in the lunch line at school that would sometimes get tater tots, fries, and mashed potatoes. (I really like potatoes). So, getting the tater tots was a no brainer. These are not your lunch room tots though. First, they are fried well, so they are nice and crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside. They are seasoned with Crystal’s house tot seasoning, which I to me tasted mostly of paprika and some cayenne.

In addition, one gets this – the TOT sauce.

I spent a long time trying to figure out what was in this sauce, but dammit I needed more tots! This sauce is amazing…and it’s addictive. What’s more is that it’s flavor kept changing with every bite. It seems so simple, but is complex. When I first tasted it, I thought it was like steak sauce, which traditionally has some horseradish in it. Potato, horseradish…it makes sense. Then, it kind of tastes like BBQ sauce. But, it all looks like ketchup. The sauce may be a combination of these 3. It could be something completely different. I don’t know, I don’t care, I just want some more. (But seriously, if you have the recipe, let me know…please!)

Other standouts that I’ve had so far include the SALTED CARAMEL PUDDING (whoa!) and the CRANBERRY APPLE CIDER.

But, I’m sure you are thinking this: “Vivek, this is all great, but I want that grilled cheese. Where can I find it?” Lucky for you, I have all the information.

In order to keep up with The Grilled Cheeserie (and most other food trucks), you gotta find them on Facebook and Twitter. On Facebook, they post their schedule for the whole week. On Twitter, you can find where they are, melt’s of the day, and sometimes specials! If you are interested in more of what they serve, check out their menu, here.

I’m very excited about The Grilled Cheeserie being in Nashville. Now it’s our job as foodies and residents of this great town to go out and support them. Especially in this cold weather, nothing is better than a grilled cheese and some tomato soup. And if you are longing for a taste of home after your holiday season, you’ll get it at The Grilled Cheeserie!

Cheers,

Vivek

GRILLED CHEESERIE UPDATE (As of 1/6/11): Went back and tried out new things. The creamy tomato soup is great for dunking. But if I had to choose between creamy (aka old fashioned) and roasted tomato soup, I’d definitely go for the roasted.

The Croque Madame sandwich is great – it’s ham, cheese, a fried egg, and coarse mustard. HELLO! My cousins got a smoked cheddar/avocado (awesome!) and a gruyere and tomato (woohoo!) We also indulged and got 2 mexican chocolate puddings which were decadent, rich, and satisfying!

GRILLED CHEESERIE UPDATE (As of 1/25/11): Had the Bananarama melt – nutella, banana on brioche – WOW! Awesome desert melt. Have heard great things about the pizza melt, though have not tried yet. Seems like they are coming out with new specials every 2-3 weeks. I have heard about a southern style “Y’all melt” which has pimento cheese, caramelized onions, and bacon. I want that one…

UPDATE (As of 2/15/11): Had the pizza melt – it was great. My new favorite melt is the CIAO BELLO with lots of italian ham, peppers, and mustard. Chocolate and Morello Cherry pudding is pretty spectacular, as well. Still on the lookout for the Y’all Melt – hopefully Crystal will bring it back!

UPDATE (As of 3/15/11): Had the Tuna Casserole (awesome – and it has macaroni pasta in it – carb heaven!) and Caliente (WOW!) sandwich. So now, I’ve had every single one on the menu. Pretty good stuff. The Club melt Crystal came out with is great. I hear the Y’all melt is going to be around during the Spring. Will report back on that one soon.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2010 8:26 AM

    Next time when I take my wife for an outing, I will find this truck. We both love grilled-cheese sandwich, without bacon offcourse! Thank you for posting. I will buy your sandwich if you like to join us.

  2. January 22, 2011 5:03 PM

    you know i’m not normally negative about restaurants, but i went to the grilled cheeserie for the first time today + i have to say, i wasn’t impressed. we got two sandwiches – one make-your-own with the local buttermilk cheddar + tomato on italian herb bread, then ‘the breakfast,’ with a fried egg, smoked cheddar, benton’s bacon + tabasco aioli.

    the make-your-own was really bland + just overall, eh. the ‘breakfast,’ which seemed promising, was really bland, too, + the tabasco aioli was either unbelievably mild or missing. also, we got the tots (which were waaay undercooked) + no tot sauce came with ’em. =(

    i’m sadly disappointed in the grilled cheeserie, but maybe we’ll give ’em one more try before we count em out completely.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention The Grilled Cheeserie! Nashville's Newest Food Truck « Vivek's ...: I absolutely love how Nashville's food scene... -- Topsy.com
  2. 1st Ever Nashville FOOD TRUCK FOOD COURT! « Vivek's Epicurean Adventures
  3. MEATLESS MONDAY: Homemade Tater Tots! « Vivek's Epicurean Adventures

Leave a Reply

