Skip to content

Charcutepalooza Project #6 – Tandoori Chicken Sausage and It’s My Birthday!!!

June 15, 2011

Today, I turn 26. June 15 is the best day of the year (biased) and I’m glad I get to share this specific recipe with you on a very special day.

You see, this month’s Charcutepalooza challenge was to make a poultry sausage. For most of the challenges, I have relied on Ruhlman’s recipe from the book, Charcuterie. I haven’t deviated at all from his careful instructions and very precise recipe. This month, I decided to make something of my own. Not only was I able to do it, but I think this could be one of the best sausages I have ever had.

Indian spiced chicken is perhaps my favorite dish on the planet. I’m having it for dinner tonight, and I could eat it every single day for the rest of my life. I like it that much. So, I really wanted to make a sausage that was representative of those flavors.

A few years ago, my mom’s aunt, who we affectionately call Masi Ba, came and stayed with us. Masi means your mom’s sister and Ba means grandmother, so Masi Ba refers to my maternal grandmother’s sister. She is a complete sweetheart and when she came to our house, she wouldn’t let anyone do anything. She insisted on doing all the cooking and even chores around the house. She’s would dress up exquisitely for parties and her radiant personality always shined through. One day when she was in the kitchen, I sat down with her and a notepad and proceeded to write down every single thing she did. They are a few cherished recipes, family secrets, and what Masi Ba has been making her whole life. She does it effortlessly, of course, just as she has for decades. And it tastes incredible – like nothing I’ve ever had before. Everytime I make the dish or eat it again, I’m reminded of the first time I tried it and I fall in love with the dish, again and again.

For those that don’t want to make the sausage, once you finish cooking the masala (don’t worry about cooking it until dry), add the chicken to the pot and cook it for about 25 minutes until it’s tender and serve over rice. It’s unbelievable.

So here is a recipe from the heart. A recipe that represents me, that represents my family. The spice mixture is a family heirloom. I hope you try it out, because this is one Epicurean Adventure that can become a staple in your house too!.

Tandoori Chicken Sausage

(recipe courtesy of Vivek Surti)

3.5 lbs chicken thigh meat, diced

1.5 lbs pork back fat, diced

2 onions, grated

2 tomatoes, grated

4 bay leaves

1 cinnamon stick

2 cardamom pods, crushed

5 cloves

1/2 tablespoon turmeric

2 tablespoons yogurt

1/2 tablespoon cayenne pepper

7 cloves garlic, minced

2 tablespoons grated ginger

2 serrano chiles, minced

1 tablespoon garam masala

Juice of 1 lime

40 grams kosher salt

1/4 cup freshly chopped cilantro

3 tablespoons paprika

1 cup ice cold water

10 feet hog casings

First, you have to cook the masala. Heat some canola oil in a pot over medium heat and add the bay leaves, cinnamon stick, cardamom pods, and cloves. Allow the aromas to fill your kitchen and for the spices to toast a little. Add the grated onion and tomatoes. Season with salt and cook until nicely brown and caramelized, about 10 to 15 minutes. Add the turmeric and cayenne pepper and cook for another minute. Add the yogurt, garlic, ginger, serrano chiles, lime juice and garam masala. Cook the masala until it is completely dry and there is no visible moisture. This is key to ensuring your sausage becomes the correct texture. The finished masala should look like a seasoning paste.

Take the masala off the heat and let cool to room temperature. If you add hot masala to the chicken, the chicken will cook, so make sure the masala is extremely cold before adding it to the diced chicken and pork fat. Add cilantro and the salt to the chicken masala and let sit in the fridge overnight so everything gets really, really cold.

Put the chicken mixture through the small die on a meat grinder. Once all is ground, put the mixture in the bowl of your kitchen aid and start the mixture with the paddle attachment. Slowly add in the water until the mixture becomes very sticky, about 1 minute.

Cook the sausages to 160 degrees either by grilling or roasting.

Put the hog casings on the tube of your sausage stuffer and stuff into one huge link. Then, twist the casing to create 6 inch links.

I served mine with some yogurt, green chutney (cilantro, mint, jalapenos, lime juice, cumin, and water blended together), some sliced red onions, and lemons.

 

Cheers,

Vivek

 

 

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2011 9:28 AM

    i love this! i made a tandoori chicken sausage using the masala spices, but didn’t cook it to a paste first, like you did. What a great idea–I’m going to try to do this next time, since I love tikka masala too! this looks delicious!

  2. June 15, 2011 9:29 AM

    Happy Birthday!

  3. June 15, 2011 10:06 AM

    whoa, this recipe looks seriously delicious. i will definitely be giving it a try, although i may go for the non-casing option that you mentioned. i just don’t know if i’m ready to add sausage-maker to my list of talents. one of those things that i leave to you + the professionals. =) happy birthday, V!

    • June 15, 2011 7:03 PM

      Try making the spice mix and add some cubes chicken thighs to it. Serve over rice and you’ll love it. So sausage making involved!

  4. Laloo nainesh permalink
    June 15, 2011 12:26 PM

    Happy birthday from the whole family here Vivek bhai! I hope you have a great day and eat biscuits. Don’t forget to use fishermans margarine. Ask mama if he wants a methipak for me 😀 jai swaminarayan

    -your laloo bhai

  5. Pete K permalink
    June 15, 2011 4:03 PM

    Excellent post.

    Where can one procure hog casing or any casing for that matter in the Nashville area?

    Happy bday!

    • June 15, 2011 4:55 PM

      Thanks Pete! Only place in Nashville is Butcher Supply Co on 3rd close to Lafayette.

      Better to get them online at amazon or butcher-packer.com

  6. June 15, 2011 5:42 PM

    The sausage looks delicious, and happy birthday!

  7. June 18, 2011 4:45 AM

    Happy birthday!!

  8. Amateur Cook permalink
    June 27, 2011 2:27 AM

     
    Great recipe! And happy birthday too. Mine is June 25th
     

  9. Leslie permalink
    July 22, 2011 9:06 AM

    Yum, thanks for sharing! This recipe (minus the sausage part) is on my list of things to make!

Trackbacks

  1. Tandoori Chicken | INDIAN FOOD
  2. Charcutepalooza Project #12 – The Grand Finale « Vivek's Epicurean Adventures

Leave a comment