Skip to content

Charcutepalooza Project #4 – Thai Peanut Salad with Homemade Canadian Bacon

April 15, 2011

I was so excited when this month’s Charcutepalooza project was announced. Out of all the projects we have had so far, this was one challenge I had a history with. I’ve been eating Canadian Bacon since I was 5 years old. When my family moved to Nashville in 1990, I was going to kindergarten and my dad had just moved his business here. We lived in a lovely townhouse in Antioch, TN, which was conveniently located next to a Domino’s Pizza. While most kids probably ate cheese, pepperoni, or sausage pizza, I always begged my parents to order Canadian bacon on mine. It was a smoky, flavorful addition to the otherwise glorious combination of bread, cheese, and sauce. Everytime I could bite into it, I was transported to my happy place.

So this challenge was never about eggs benedict or hot smoking. It was really about making and understanding something that I have always adored. As these challenges start to come about, it is very interesting to see how the different techniques can be merged together to create a beautiful product. You can cure ingredients, like bacon, and then smoke them. You can, in this case, brine a pork loin, and then smoke it to achieve Canadian bacon. These basic techniques of curing and brining seem to be omnipresent as the building blocks for charcuterie projects and I feel like I’m really getting the hang of this.

Now smoking is something I’ve done before, but I’ve always had some trouble regulating temperature. See, I don’t have one of those big fancy smoking rigs or even an indoor smoker. I do, however, have my trusty Weber Kettle grill. I made it into a smoker, but lighting a very small amount of charcoal and then covering it with soaked hickory chips, to maintain an even low heat. I used to use as much charcoal as I did to grill, but that would make the temperature way too high, burning the food on the outside before it was cooked in the middle. By using a very small amount of charcoal, I could maintain the temperature and the Canadian bacon came out even better than I expected.

The idea for my recipe came about on a whim. I was actually on a trip to DC last week and I met up with my good friend and former coworker, Sarah. At lunch, I had a Thai chicken salad with this lovely peanut dressing. When I came back home, I found a container of freshly ground peanut butter. Immediately, I was inspired to recreate that salad – but to replace the chicken with some of my homemade Canadian bacon. The salad was an amazing combination of flavors and textures – the crunch cabbage and peanuts, the creamy dressing, the succulent pork, and freshness from the herbal mint and chives. It was a great dinner.

Thai Peanut Salad with Homemade Canadian Bacon

(recipe courtesy of Vivek Surti)

For the peanut dressing:

3 T rice wine vinegar

1 T sriracha hot sauce

2 T soy sauce

Juice of 1/2 lime

1 T freshly grated ginger

1/2 cup freshly ground peanut butter

1 T honey

6 T olive oil

1/2 bunch of freshly chopped chives

Combine the vinegar, hot sauce, soy sauce, lime juice, ginger, peanut butter, and honey in a bowl and whisk to combine. Slowly stream in the olive oil and whisk until emulsified. Season with salt and pepper. Stir in the chives.

For the salad:

1/2 head romaine lettuce, sliced thinly

1/2 head red cabbage, sliced thinly

1/4 red onion, sliced thinly

2 carrots, grated

1/4 cup roasted peanuts

1/4 cup chopped fresh herbs (combination of mint, chives, cilantro, and basil)

1 cup of homemade Canadian bacon, sliced into batons and heated through in a pan until just warmed through

Combine all of the ingredients in a bowl. Toss with enough dressing to just barely coat everything. Serve on a plate with some more of the peanut dressing.

Cheers,

Vivek

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2011 12:04 PM

    Wow. I want to go there.

  2. April 17, 2011 12:55 PM

    Excellent post thanks for sharing. Food is something I can enjoy all around. If I’m not eating it. I’m reading and looking at pictures about it.

    Rise n Shine Eggs – Breakfast Recipe

  3. April 18, 2011 7:22 PM

    this looks pretty CHOOLS!

    good job v!

  4. April 20, 2011 7:08 AM

    I LOVE Thai Peanut Salads and this is a great twist on one! Yum.

  5. April 22, 2011 10:26 AM

    Another masterpiece!

Leave a Reply

