Skip to content

White Chocolate – Banana Cream – Coconut Pie

January 31, 2011

I’ll admit it – I’m not the world’s greatest baker. Cooking I can do. It’s spontaneous, it’s playful, and it’s much more forgiving. Baking on the other hand is rigid, precise, and very technical. To me, people that are really good at baking are very attuned to following recipes, but also understand techniques related to baking, like how a pie dough should “feel” or how best to whip cream until it forms peaks.

As I continue blogging, I hope to improve my skills as a baker, and this pie is one such attempt. I brought this pie over to Lindsay’s (Love & Olive Oil) pie party on Saturday. We had some great pies including her cookie dough cream pie and Beth‘s chocolate chess pie. There was basically 3 pies for 7 people. Let’s just say we ate a lot of pie….

The pie crust is made out of chocolate graham crackers. My crust was pretty terrible as it just stayed as crumbs – but with Lindsay’s expert advice (use more butter), I’ve adjusted the recipe to work! The filling is utterly delicious – with fresh bananas and a white chocolate custard that is allowed to set overnight. Topped with freshly toasted coconut and whipped cream, this pie has everything I’d ever want.

White Chocolate – Banana Cream – Coconut Pie (makes 8 servings)

(Recipe adapted from Bobby Flay’s Boy Meets Grill)

Pie Crust:

1 1/2 cups chocolate graham cracker crumbs

1 tablespoon dark brown sugar

6 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Mix all the ingredients in a medium bowl and pat into a 9 inch pie plate. You can use a heavy measuring cup to  really ensure the crust holds together and doesn’t crumble. Bake 10 to 12 minutes. Let cool completely at room temperature.

Filling:

1 cup whole milk

1/3 cup sugar

3 large egg yolks

2 tablespoons cornstarch

1 tablespoon cold unsalted butter, cut into 2 pieces

1 1/2 oz white chocolate, finely chopped

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 large banana, sliced into 1/4 inch pieces

Bring the milk and 2 tablespoons of the sugar to a boil in a medium saucepan over medium high heat. In a medium bowl, whisk together the egg yolks, remaining sugar, and cornstarch until blended. Slowly whisk the hot milk into the egg mixture and return to the saucepan. Cook over medium heat until the mixture beings to bubble. Continue cooking for 1 minute longer. Remove from the heat and add the butter, white chocolate, and vanilla, and whisk until smooth.

Place the banana slices in a single layer over the bottom of the pie crust and pour the white chocolate custard over them. Cover the surface of the custard with plastic wrap and refrigerate until completely cooled and firm, overnight.

Topping:

1 cup very cold heavy cream

2 tablespoons sugar

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 cup toasted coconut

Place the cream, sugar, and vanilla extract in a medium bowl and beat to soft peaks with a hand held or stand mixture. Just before serving, top the pie with the whipped cream and then cover with toasted coconut.

Happy Pie eating, everyone! Cheers,

Vivek

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2011 1:37 PM

    I know from personal experience, this is Yummy!! I didn’t know you were posting your recipe today, so I didn’t originally include a link to you in my write up, but I just adjusted to do so🙂

    • January 31, 2011 2:01 PM

      Thanks! I figured you and Lindsay posted, so I did too! It’s a virtual pie party on the blogosphere!

  2. January 31, 2011 2:27 PM

    I’m so sad I missed the pie party. I hope there’s another because I have peaches I froze in the summer specifically for pie-making. That is, when I discovered Baby Eats would not eat them.🙂

  3. February 1, 2011 3:34 PM

    I thought it was delicious! What a great combo of flavors!

Leave a Reply

