Skip to content

The Perfect Treat: Banana Nut Bread

January 17, 2011

Get this – warm banana nut bread. Delicious and moist. Crunchy and soft. Nutty. Comforting. A little bit of banana gelato since you need just that little extra boost of fresh banana flavor. Hot cake, cold gelato. C’mon folks! It doesn’t get any better than that!

This is the banana bread of all banana breads. I’ve already made it twice and I’ll probably make it again this week. I buy extra bananas now so that some of them will become overripe. Just so I can make this banana bread!

Have it in the morning with your coffee, as a mid afternoon snack, for desert after dinner! If you are really really nice (and certainly much nicer than me) you can give this away as a gift. I, however, will be selfish and make it for me. If you’re lucky, I’ll cut you a (small) slice if you come over to the house. Until that day, I will be kind enough to share the recipe!

Flour’s Famous Banana Bread

(Recipe adapted from Joanne Chang of Flour Bakery in Boston)

1 2/3 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar
2 eggs
1/2 cup oil
3 1/2 bananas, very ripe, mashed
2 tablespoons creme fraiche or sour cream
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 tangerine zested (this is the optional ingredient that I added in here)

2/3 cup walnuts, toasted and chopped

Set oven to 350 degrees F. Line the bottom of a loaf pan with parchment paper.

Sift together the flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Beat sugar and eggs with a whisk until light and fluffy, about 10 minutes.Drizzle in oil. Add mashed bananas, creme fraiche, tangerine zest, and vanilla. Fold in dry ingredients and nuts. Pour into a lined loaf pan and bake for about 45 minutes to 1 hour.

Top with some fresh banana gelato! (PS Nashville residents – I got the gelato from our favorite shop – Bravo Gelato!) Happy eatings, y’all!

Cheers,

Vivek

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2011 10:50 AM

    You had me at “gelato.” It doesn’t help that the picture captures how it is just starting to melt. Quick! Air mail me a slice! PLEASE?!?

  2. January 19, 2011 8:02 PM

    This looks yummie!

    I’m so going to try this this weekend.

    • January 20, 2011 12:23 AM

      Awesome! Please let me know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

