Skip to content

Vivek’s Ultimate Holiday Gift Guide….I Mean, WISHLIST!

December 15, 2010

Ok, it’s Holiday time. If you are like me, you procrastinate a lot of things…especially getting gifts. I may be the worst gift giver in the history of the world. I still ask my mom to find gifts that I can give on my behalf. I don’t trust myself to give good gifts…and neither should you. Thus, instead of telling you great gifts to get for your favorite food lover, I have put forth all the things that I want!

I’m sure your immediate reaction is – who the hell does this guy think he is? Well, it’s my blog, so I’m going to write what I want. And if some of my lovely family members come across this post, you’ll know exactly what to get me! Even if that means spending your whole month’s paycheck on it (or splitting the costs amongst yourselves…), a man can dream.

So, without further ado, here is my Holiday Wishlist (in no particular order).

1. Polyscience Sous Vide Professional Immersion Circulator

If you’ve been reading my blog, you know that I care much more about learning and applying techniques than I do recipes. In essence, learning a new technique is more satisfying than preparing a new recipe with a time old technique. Sous Vide is a fantastic new technique that up until now has been used in professional kitchens and awesome shows like TOP CHEF! The immersion circulator allows one to regulate temperature to a tenth of a degree, thereby ensuring whatever you put in the pouch cooks to perfection. Using vacuum sealing, one can also intensify flavor because the aromatics are not allowed to evaporate.

This is the one thing I wish I could have above all others. And while it’s pretty pricey at $799.95 do you really have to pay rent this month?

2. The Smoking Gun

Who wouldn’t want to use a gun in the kitchen?! Especially one that adds smokiness to whatever food you apply it to? I first saw this on season 4 of Top Chef when Richard Blais pulled it out. I love smoky food. I like the idea of using guns. Seems like a good way to reduce redundancies and inefficiencies.

3. Vita Mix Professional Series Blender

This is the blender of all blenders. It will pulverize, liquefy, puree anything and everything. Even the tiny seeds of blackberries that you put in your morning smoothie will be smooth as silk if it goes through this thing. The Vita Mix is really more than a blender – it’s like a power tool for your kitchen.

4. Andrea Robinson’s The One Wine Glass

I like drinking wine. You probably like drinking wine. And you certainly want some glassware that is presentable, durable, and it’s a plastic solo cup. Master Sommelier Andrea Robinson has created the perfect glasses. Instead of having a different glass for every kind of wine or for having no glasses, she has come up with ONE perfect glass for white wines and ONE perfect glass for red wines. The cool part? They are unbreakable and you can stick them in the dishwasher.

And from now until the end of the year, she’s offering them at 20% off as long as you sign up with the newsletter here.

5. Vinturi Wine Aerator

Quick decanting? I’m game. Another great gift for the wine lover you know and certainly something that I want. It’s oftentimes really good to let your wine “breathe” after it’s been bottled up for a while. Instead of having to let it sit in a decanter for an hour, you can just pour it through this nifty aerator and voila! Your wine will be even better. It’s also dishwasher safe!

6. Bacon of the Month Club

Is there anything that really sounds better than this? You get a bunch of bacon every month, from all around the country. Who needs Oscar Meyer when you can taste handmade, old fashioned bacon from around the good ole US of A. You can get a 3 month package or a 6 month package. What an amazing idea.

There are of course more things that I want, but the list would be too long. Alas, hopefully Santa Claus will grant me these gifts. That would certainly make for a great holiday!

Cheers,

Vivek

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2010 1:37 PM

    I definitely wouldn’t mind that blender! I have a cheapo $20 one from target and it barely works😦

    • December 16, 2010 10:23 AM

      Yeah, it’s sometimes hard to pull the trigger on these purchases, but I think down the line, really worth it. We’ve had a $20 blender at our house which is older than me

  2. December 17, 2010 1:01 PM

    That is an AMBITIOUS list! Though I have to say those wine glasses are a great gift idea. And I just got an aerator–yay!

    • December 17, 2010 1:27 PM

      haha I know, right!?! But isn’t that what writing a blog is about – who knows, maybe Polyscience will read this blog and send me a free one. (that would be sweet)

  3. Claudia permalink
    December 20, 2010 5:36 AM

    I❤ my vinturi aerator! It was a gift for my dad first, then I just kept it hahaha

Leave a Reply

