Skip to content

Mozzarella en Carozza: Mozzarella in a Carriage

November 4, 2010

Mozzarella in Carozza sounds like a fancy dish – but let me share a secret – it’s actually really easy to prepare and it’s delicious. A classic Italian version of the grilled cheese that uses the most simple ingredients – bread, cheese, and eggs – and transforms them into this gooey, cheesy, eggy perfection. You assemble the sandwich as you would a grilled cheese, but then you dip it into eggs, so it comes out more spongy than a grilled cheese – kind of like french toast.

I found this recipe because I had recently downloaded the Mario Batali iPhone App. Lucky for me, I had all the ingredients on hand. I made some for my dad, and we had a fantastic al fresco lunch!

Make sure to get the best quality mozzarella that you can – I, of course, get mine fresh every Saturday from my good friend Tom over at Lazzaroli Pasta. Get some good quality bread and the freshest eggs you can find. Then, you will eat one of the best grilled cheese sandwiches of all time. Make a big bowl of my tomato soup and soon, you’ll be in heaven.

Mozzarella en Carozza (serves 4-8)

Recipe adapted from Mario Batali

8 slices sandwich bread, crusts removed

slices of fresh mozzarella

5 eggs

1/2 cup milk

2 teaspoons fresh thyme

1 teaspoon kosher salt

1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

3 tablespoons unsalted butter

Top each of the 4 slices of bread with a piece or two of mozzarella. Cover with the remaining four slices to form a sandwich.

In a bowl, whisk together the eggs until smooth. Add the milk, thyme, salt, and black pepper and whisk to combine. Dip the sandwiches into the egg mixture and coat on all sides.

In a big nonstick pan, heat 1 tablespoon of oil and 1 tablespoon of butter. Place 1 or 2 sandwiches into the pan, depending on how much you can fit, and cook until golden brown on one side, about two minutes. Then flip and cook on the other side, for two minutes. Remove the sandwiches from the pan. C

Continue adding oil/butter and cooking the remaining sandwiches.

I like to cut the sandwiches into quarters for presentation – I think it looks cool and a little more “chef-y”.

look at that ooey-gooey cheese!!

here’s a picture of the crust!

This is a great recipe, it’s easy to put together, and it tastes delicious. Try it out and let me know what you think!

Cheers,

Vivek


11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2010 3:50 AM

    This recipe is simple but I think this taste really good, who doesnt want mozarella! I agree with you its a great recipe.

    Raymund
    http://angsarap.wordpress.com

  2. November 4, 2010 11:01 AM

    I officially hate you!!! That is the best looking sandwich I have ever seen in my life.

  3. Mona permalink
    November 4, 2010 4:48 PM

    What kind of bread did u use? It looks amazing!

    • November 4, 2010 8:25 PM

      I used whole wheat bread – you know, the family staple🙂

  4. Verma permalink
    November 4, 2010 6:03 PM

    Marry me. And then go make me that sammich!🙂

  5. November 4, 2010 6:54 PM

    most desi guys don’t like to cook. are not even caught in the kitchen.. or only like to do the manly cooking like grilling and barbecuing… its nice to see a desi guy embrace the kitchen.. i havent gone through the rest of your blog but im looking forward to it.. i also added u to my blog roll… happy cooking🙂

  6. November 4, 2010 7:12 PM

    to all you readers:
    1) vivek makes the sandwiches EVER
    2) vivek makes the best tomato soup EVER

    mix the two and you’re in for a real treat!

    -z

  7. November 4, 2010 8:36 PM

    Impressive looking sandwich Vivek!!

  8. November 5, 2010 11:53 AM

    Grilled cheese French toast…I thought I’d heard it all!

    And I get Tom’s mozzarella every Sasturday, too!

Leave a Reply

