Skip to content

Calling All Wine Lovers!

October 30, 2010

If I could have but one beverage to drink, it would be wine. Over the past few years, I’ve really sought to learn more about wine and enjoy all the different varietals that exist. Wine is sexy – it’s complex, it’s classy, it’s thought provoking, and it’s very, very tasty.

Hopefully, you’ve read some of my previous posts on Fido’s Wine 101 class, such as this one and this one! (Looking back, those posts look amateur, haha – but it was when I just started out, so cut me some slack).

Anyway, my first adventure into wine was actually buying a book by Master Sommelier Andrea Robinson called Great Wine Made Simple. (Well…not totally my first – that was actually with boxed wine and red solo cups, but I digress.) It’s a great book and I recommend it to anyone who wants to learn about the basics of wine – like what’s on that label and what does it mean? What is chardonnay? Why do you swirl wine?

Lucky for you, I stumbled upon her website yesterday because of a Twitter post and found some incredible videos you can watch which teach you just about everything in the book! Not only has Andrea posted her “video wine course”, but she also started a series last week called “Daily Tasting”, which shows one video a day for the next 15 weeks! It starts you off on the basics and then takes you into some pretty advanced stuff.

Think about it – you could be a wine expert in almost 4 months – and you’ll be taught by one of the best! Check out the website at www.andreawine.com and puruse the site at your leisure. If you’re interested in wine, this is a very valuable resource and I hope you enjoy it as much as I have.

On a side note, I’m thinking about starting a Wine Wednesday section where I do all of the tastings and report back. Anyone interested in reading about that/helping fund the wine bill and doing it with me?

Cheers! (or should I say, Sante!)

Vivek

Leave a Reply

