Skip to content

First Restaurant Review!: Prince’s Hot Chicken

September 23, 2010

So, I’ve been blogging for about two and a half months now and realized that I still hadn’t reviewed a restaurant yet! It’s usually pretty rare that I go out to a restaurant (maybe twice a month unless I’m traveling), so I either try to check out a brand new place or go to some of my tried and true favorites (but that’s another blog postūüôā ). So here goes nothing…

Prince’s Hot Chicken

123 Ewing Drive, Nashville, TN 37207 (Click for directions)

(615) 226-9442

Hot Fried Chicken is the signature dish of Nashville, TN. So what could be more fitting for my first restaurant review, right? There are quite a few places that serve this great dish, like 400 Degrees and Bolton’s Spicy Chicken & Fish, but Prince’s stands atop the competition and is truly one of my favorite institutions to patron.

How did I find Prince’s?

I discovered Prince’s just like how I believe most people did – my more¬†enlightened¬†friends took me there. Some of my childhood friends – Rishab and Sarish had gone a few weeks prior to my first visit and they completely sold me and another friend, Sheetu instantly. We all love fried chicken and we all love¬†excruciatingly¬†spicy food. Herein, was a match made in heaven. Since then, I have had the pleasure of bringing a lot of people to Prince’s, including my dad, college buddies, and even family members who have come from India looking for “something in America that is spicy”.

What’s on the menu?

Prince’s has the most simplest of menu. You order chicken. You can get a breast/wing quarter, a thigh/drumstick quarter, a half chicken, or a whole chicken. Then you tell them how spicy you want it – mild, medium, hot, extra hot. Each order is served in wax paper with 2 pieces of wonderbread and some pickles. You can order additional sides, like baked beans, cole slaw, potato salad, extra pickles, and fries. They usually have a few pies as well.

This place is also very CHEAP. The quarters cost $5 (breast) and $4 (leg). Sides are no more than $3. All drinks are $1.

And that’s pretty much it. It’s a hot chicken place and all they serve is hot chicken. You want a hamburger or some chicken tenders? Go elsewhere.

What did you get?

My usual order is a leg quarter, medium. I’ve eaten all variations of this chicken. I even once tried the extra hot with my good friend, Sanjeet. While it was incredibly good, I never really go more than hot.

If you go for the first time, get hot.

If you can barely handle the “spicy fried chicken” that most places offer, get the mild.

I’ve essentially settled on the medium, because to me it is the perfect balance between enough heat and great, truly great flavor.

How’s it taste?

Incredible. If I could eat fried chicken every day, I would eat this. First, it is beautifully fried. It is perfectly seasoned and has a great crust that is laced with heat from cayenne pepper. There is some fattiness that comes from the chicken skin. The meat is moist, juicy, and tender. After all these years, I’ve never had a dry piece of chicken. That great crust with the moist interior is due to their frying the chicken in cast iron skillets. This isn’t deep fried chicken. And, all the chicken is cooked to order, so you might have to wait a while until you get yours. It’s worth it.

Eating this is like a ritual for me. I open up the wax paper and remove the toothpick. I take a pickle and slide it against some of those spices and pop it in my mouth. I tear off the drumstick and watch all the steam escape. I dive in. The crunch is great. Another bite. It’s so juicy. Then a bit of bread that has toasted and absorbed some of the spices. The spice starts hitting me. My lips are burning. I go in for another bite. And another. And another. Soon enough, it’s done and my face is sweating, my mouth is on fire, and I have a few sips of water left. The feeling is ethereal because when you eat something so spicy, you feel a sense of elation and accomplishment which only this place provides. It is probably the best fried chicken I’ve ever had. And when you eat here, when you are eating something so unique, it’s quite possible that you are eating the best hot fried chicken in the world. I mean – no other place makes this stuff! It’s a Nashville treasure. And I, for one, am making sure to get my fair share!

Overall, a great restaurant that I frequent when my friends/family come back to Nashville, if someone new comes to try and wants to try something unique, and if I’m just craving some great, spicy food. If you are ever in Nashville, do not miss out on hot fried chicken. It’ll blow your mind.

Cheers,

Vivek

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2010 8:46 PM

    you are crazy for this place. TO ALL MY VEGETARIANS: go with your friends because if they cake lady is there – you’ll be in luck!

  2. Ehson Afshar permalink
    September 25, 2010 12:45 AM

    Haha! What a great description – I must say that I always get the mild and it’s probably spicier than most places’ “hot.”

    But it was very delicious. I will always remember Vivek and Sanjeet tearing apart the “extra hot” version and the immense amount of sweating and excruciating faces.

    Great post!

  3. September 26, 2010 10:39 PM

    Princes is a good one for sure! Medium is just to hot.

  4. September 27, 2010 11:05 PM

    LOL! I went and got medium (200 degrees) from 400 Degrees… too hot also! It kind of made my stomach hurt, it was sooo hot! I think I am a spicy hot food wimp. ūüė¶ But, I do like the relaxation feeling after eating the spicy hot food.

  5. Sheetu permalink
    October 6, 2010 8:38 PM

    Just discovered your blog, good stuff. You already know how I feel about princes. My sister wants to go when we are in town next weekend, I’ll let you know when we go if you want to come.

Leave a Reply

