Skip to content

Fido Wine 101 Class!

August 5, 2010

I’ve always wanted to take a wine class – and yesterday, I got my chance. I found about this class from another great Nashville Food Blog, Eat.Drink.Smile, and when I saw the description, I knew this was something I had to go to. I mean, it’s 7 wines, 4 bites (served like tapas), and a whole lot of wine knowledge all for $20. What a deal!

The Wine 101 class is taught at Fido in Hillsboro Village and it’s part of a month long course entitled Wine 101. The first class was held yesterday and every Wednesday, this month, at 7 pm, you can reserve your spot at the tasting too. We focused on learning the history of wine. The next 3 classes are on the vineyard, the winery, and blending. I’m very excited to take this class and I hope you can come out to it as well! You can email events@fido.com to make a reservation.

The class itself, is fantastic. Damien, a very knowledgeable Australian distributor who works here in Nashville teaches each class and does so in a way that makes the information very interesting. You get 1 sparkling wine, 3 whites, and 3 reds in each tasting and a few courses of food! What could be better, right?

Here is what we had:

Sparkling Wine: NV Conde de Subirats Cava Blanco, Spain ($12.99) – an awesome Cava. I typically always go for Cava if I’m looking for some bubbly because its affordable and tastes great. This is no exception. A good way to start off the night.

Food Course #1: White gazpacho, watermelon, lemon cucumber, mint – a very light and refreshing soup, served cold.

White Wine #1: 2009 Carre Chesnaie Muscadet, France ($12.99) – We learned that Muscadet is the French word for Muscat (a city in Oman), where the first histories of wine were born.

White Wine #2: 2009 Vigneti del Sole Pinot Grigio, Italy ($11.99) – This was my favorite of the whites. It’s the wine you want to drink when it’s 100 degrees outside (which it has been here in Nashville). Very refreshing, it tastes like lemon.

White Wine #3: 2009 Gunn Estate Sauvignon Blanc, New Zealand ($16.99) – Another great white that is just as robust as any sauvignon blanc you would get from New Zealand. This was the crowd favorite.

Food Course #2: Grilled Tennessee Praw, Pea, Aioli – This was my favorite food course. The prawn was cooked perfectly, infused by the smokiness of the grill. I wish I could’ve had a whole plateful of them. The peas were actually a pigeon pea puree and a few sauteed pigeon peas. Pigeon peas are one of my favorites not only because we grow them in the garden, but they are very prominent in Indian cooking. Glad to see them here, especially after that great Pea Puree debacle on Top Chef (anyone else see that?)

Food Course #3: Olive, Pine Nut Butter, Goat Cheese, Local Honey – This was my dad’s favorite course and it was really great. It was a sweet-salty combination, with the olives complimenting the cheese, honey, and pine nut butter. There was also a bit of balsamic vinegar on the plate. The pine nut butter was made just like peanut butter is – but with pine nuts instead – genius! A great plate, and fairly easy to make at home if you wanted to. (I apologize the pictures aren’t great, I only had my phone to snap a memory)

After all the great whites, we moved onto the Reds.

Red Wine #1: 2009 Del Fin Del Mundo Pinot Noir, Argentina ($16.99) – This is a great and incredibly light Pinot – you can actually see through it! What’s funny about this winery is that when my sister went to Argentina last year, she RAVED about the Del Fin Del Mundo Malbec she had when she was in Patagonia (you know…the tip of South America that’s close to Antarctica!). She really wanted to bring back some, but circumstances arose and she couldn’t. So, I was pretty excited when I saw this on the tasting menu. Great stuff.

Red Wine #2: 2007 Dog Ridge Shiraz, Australia ($16.99) – A great Shiraz, true to the style – bold, gusty, spicy. The interesting thing we learned was that wine actually started around the time of the Persian empire and there is a town in modern day Iran called Shiraz, from which the grape gets its name. My college roomate, Ehson’s dad is from Iran and more specifically, from Shiraz. There is also a salad named after this town, called Shirazi Salad – which I’m sure you’ve had if you’ve gone to a Middle Eastern, Persian, or Kurdish restaurant. It’s the salad with tomato, cucumbers, onion, dill, lemon, and olive oil. Interesting fact!

Red Wine #3: 2008 Broadside Cabernet Sauvignon, California ($19.99) – An awesome Cab, with all the elegance and refinement of this classic wine. My dad’s favorite red. A great way to end the tasting.

Food Course #4: Braised Beef Empanada, curtido, lime sour cream – The first thing that came to my head was “what the $#&$ is curtido??!?” Having started a food blog and being knowledgeable about most things on a menu, this one caught me by surprise. When I got the dish, I was pretty happy. Curtido is simply a mix of hot pickled vegetables (onions, carrots, radish) that was used to top the empanada. This was a great end to the meal and the most substantial bite of the bunch. Here’s a picture:

So we ended the night – making some new friends, enjoying some great food & wine, and having expanded our knowledge of the wine world, we came back home. I can’t wait until next Wednesday to see what they have in store for us. If you are free – come on out to Fido, you won’t be disappointed.

Cheers,

Vivek

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Tony Cole permalink
    August 6, 2010 7:31 AM

    It was good to meet you and Tarun at Fido’s; seeing the content of your blog you’ll like the food they offer as well as the wines. We won’t necessarily get the same breakdown of wines each week (like one sparkling, three white, three red) – it’ll be whatever suits the topic; actually, it’s quite unusual to get a sparkling wine from the tastings I’ve been to. But when one appears its often a good, cheap alternative to champagne, which after all is just a region of France. I’ve never visited anyone’s blogpage before so there’s a first, and yours is very well put together with some excellent looking food. See you next week!

  2. August 6, 2010 6:04 PM

    Tony,
    Great to meet you as well and hear your stories. See you next week! VS

  3. Roochita permalink
    August 9, 2010 1:27 PM

    Ugh…just had another wish-I-lived-in-Nashville moment so I could come with you guys- looks so fun and reasonable!

Leave a Reply

