Skip to content

Meatless Monday – Heirloom Tomatoes

July 26, 2010

It’s Summer and in Nashville, it’s ridiculously hot. But one thing I love, especially in the summer, is to see the sheer bounty and diversity of fresh fruits and vegetables that come out of farmer’s markets and (in my case) your neighbor’s garden! When I was out getting supplies for the Surti Family Falafel Party, I went directly to my neighbor’s garden where she showed me a bounty of fresh vegetables – heirloom tomatoes, green tomatoes, cherry tomatoes, bell peppers, cubanelle peppers, squash  (and squash blossoms!), beans, and fresh herbs. I went and picked all the cherry tomatoes I could for the party, but grabbed a few heirloom tomatoes for my own personal stash.

Sometimes, I forget how good a tomato taste – just a simple, unadorned tomato at the peak of its season. I know you can find tomatoes at your local megamart at all times of the year, but it’s just not the same. Every time I have a tomato around this time, it’s like tasting a tomato for the first time.

I first just cut a slice and popped it in my mouth. The juice of the tomato burst in my mouth. It was taste.

Then I added some crunchy sea salt and fresh black pepper. Oh, that was goood.

Then, it was time for some extra virgin olive oil. Scrumptious.

Finally, a little chiffonade of basil. Now, you’re talking.

So, go grab some great heirloom tomatoes and enjoy a great vegetable at the peak of its growing season. Make a salad, make a soup, make a tomato sauce – anything! It’ll be worth it.

Here is a picture of my tomato. I tried to take more pictures, but we ate it too fast.

Hope you all enjoy!

Cheers,

Vivek

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2010 2:44 PM

    You are absolutely right.
    The true taste of this heirloom tomoto will change opinion of even the most opiniated. Add what Vivek has suggeste and you are hooked with this baby for lifetime.

  2. Neil Tailor permalink
    July 26, 2010 6:16 PM

    Wow Vivek…those tomatoes look really good. Too bad we don’t have any ripe tomatoes in our garden.

Leave a Reply

