Skip to content

Getting Started…

July 25, 2010

You know, I’ve been thinking about blogging for a long time. There is something to be said for being able to record your experiences and share your stories and adventures with family, friends, or whomever else choses to read your blog. I have read many blogs over the last few years – blogs about political commentary, values based leadership, American style, sports, and yes, the culinary arts. I have gained an immeasurable respect for the people that share their stories with the world and allow individuals to come together based on the notion of shared values and a desire to experience new and interesting things.

Thus, I am resolved in giving back to a community from which I have learned so much – to share my experiences, thoughts, and advice with you, the reader. I’m going to write about my Epicurean Adventures because, if you know me, you know food is one of my greatest passions. I believe that the concept of food is one that encompasses the preservation of life, tells a story about cultural traditions and heritage, allows creativity and spontaneity to flourish, and lastly, brings friends and family together to break bread. But inherent in this discussion are larger questions of society that I believe merit discussion – the question of where our food comes from? What does our food system reveal about American values? Have we moved so much towards processed foods that we don’t even know what real food is? What can we as individuals and stewards of our culture do to make our food system more sustainable, more environmentally friendly, and above all else, a positive and healthy experience for us and the generations that follow us.

This blog is not just about Real Food. It’s about Real People and their experiences. I hope you enjoy this blog, as much as I will enjoy sharing my Epicurean Adventures with you!

Cheers,

Vivek

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

